Compare bank accounts in Tanzania
🎯 Not sure which is right for you? Get a personalised plan ranked for your situation. Get my plan →
Widest branch network
CRDB Bank Current Account
★★★★☆
Not published on the product page — ask for the current tariff guide before opening
Monthly Fee
Licensed bank; listed on the Bank of Tanzania register of licensed institutions
Licence
Salaried and self-employed people who want branch, ATM and multi-currency access in one account
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Runs in TZS, USD, EUR and GBP, which suits anyone paid or billed in foreign currency
- Cheque book plus TemboCard Visa/Mastercard for sole signatories, and joint operation is allowed
- Overdraft can be added later if you meet CRDB's lending conditions
Cons
- The opening balance is one of the higher ones among Tanzanian everyday accounts
- CRDB does not publish monthly maintenance or transaction charges on the product page
- Overdraft access is discretionary, not an automatic feature of the account
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Minimum opening balanceTZS 100,000 (or USD 100 / GBP 100 / EUR 100), per CRDB's product page
Monthly maintenanceNot stated on the product page — request CRDB's tariff guide and confirm before you open
Eligibility
- Aged 18 or over
- Valid legal identification: NIDA ID or number, voter's ID, passport, driving licence or Zanzibar ID
Documents needed
- Valid legal ID (NIDA, voter's ID, passport, driving licence or Zanzibar ID)
- Two passport-size photographs
Fees published
Stanbic Bank Tanzania Personal Current Account
★★★★☆
TZS 3,000 on the shilling account per Stanbic's product page (nil on USD, EUR, GBP and ZAR accounts)
Monthly Fee
Licensed banking institution under the Banking and Financial Institutions Act 2006, registration CB A 0006; on the BOT licensed list
Licence
People who want a published fee they can budget for, plus regional cash access
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Stanbic publishes the monthly fee, the card fee and the minimum deposit, which most Tanzanian banks do not
- Foreign-currency versions carry no monthly fee per the same page
- Page states cross-border cash access in Kenya, Uganda and South Sudan
Cons
- Branch network is far smaller than CRDB's or NMB's, so cash-heavy users may find it inconvenient
- Charges beyond the monthly and card fee are not itemised on the product page
- Non-Tanzanians face a longer document list, including a certified residence permit
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly account feeTZS 3,000 on the shilling account; nil on USD, EUR, GBP and ZAR accounts (Stanbic product page)
New debit cardTZS 10,000, with a stated minimum deposit of TZS 10,000 (Stanbic product page)
Eligibility
- Aged 18 or over
- Valid National ID (NIDA) or Zanzibar resident identity card
- Non-Tanzanians need a valid passport, certified residence permit and visa endorsement
Documents needed
- One recent passport-size photograph
- Valid NIDA ID or Zanzibar resident identity card
- Non-citizens: passport, certified residence permit, valid visa endorsement, and employment contract or employer's introduction letter if employed
NBC Individual Current Account
★★★★☆
Not published on the account page — NBC keeps a separate tariff guide
Monthly Fee
Regulated by the Bank of Tanzania (stated on NBC's own site); on the BOT licensed list
Licence
People who bank in cash and want one of the longest-established branch networks in the country
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- One of Tanzania's oldest banks, with a wide upcountry branch and ATM presence
- Account page advertises numerous withdrawals and unlimited deposits at branches and ATMs
- Sits alongside NBC's savings range, so you can hold transacting and saving money at the same bank
Cons
- Fees are not shown on the account page; you have to open the separate tariff guide
- The page gives no minimum balance, so you cannot compare it against rivals without asking
- Fewer digital-first features are advertised than at the newer banks
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Monthly maintenanceNot published on the account page; NBC links to a separate tariff guide — ask for it before opening
Minimum balanceNot stated on the account page — confirm at a branch
Eligibility
- Aged 18 or over
- Valid ID: passport, driving licence, national identity card or voter's card
Documents needed
- Valid ID (passport, driving licence, national ID or voter's card)
- Proof of residential address, such as a recent utility bill, local government letter or lawyer's letter
- Two passport-size colour photographs if you are not already an NBC customer
Exim Bank Tanzania Salary Account
★★★★☆
Not published on the product page — ask for Exim's tariff guide
Monthly Fee
On the Bank of Tanzania register of licensed banks
Licence
Employees whose employer already pays salaries through Exim and who may want credit later
Best For
bank
Type
Pros
- Exim states there is no minimum balance requirement on this account
- Holding it is the stated route into Exim's Nufaika personal loan and Nyumba Yangu home loan
- International chip-and-PIN debit card, mobile app and internet banking are included
Cons
- You need an employer introduction letter, so it is not open to the self-employed
- No fees are published on the page, so the running cost is unknown until you ask
- Loan access is advertised as a benefit but is still subject to separate credit assessment
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Minimum balanceExim's page states no minimum balance is required
Monthly maintenance and card chargesNot published on the product page — request the current tariff guide
Eligibility
- In employment and receiving a salary
- Able to provide an introduction letter from your employer
Documents needed
- Passport or voter's ID
- Company ID
- Proof of residence, two recent passport-size photographs and an employer's introduction letter
Everyday wallet
Mixx by Yas (formerly Tigo Pesa)
★★★★☆
None advertised for holding the wallet; transaction charges apply per the operator's tariff
Monthly Fee
Electronic money issuer licensed by the Bank of Tanzania under the National Payment Systems Act
Licence
Everyday cash-in, cash-out and bill payment without a bank branch
Best For
mno
Type
Pros
- Works over USSD (*150*01#) as well as the app, so no smartphone is required
- Page advertises ATM withdrawals at 350+ Umoja switch and TCB ATMs, plus a virtual Mastercard for online purchases
- Self-service reversal of a mistaken transfer is available within 12 hours
Cons
- A wallet is not a bank account; balances are not the same as an insured bank deposit
- The full send, withdraw and pay tariff is not shown on the main page — you have to open the terms document
- Yas's Nivushe Plus credit inside the wallet is short-term and expensive; treat it as a last resort
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Self-service reversalTSh 50, within 12 hours of the mistaken transfer (Yas product page)
Send, withdraw and pay chargesNot listed on the product page — check the published Mixx by Yas tariff before relying on it for large transfers
Eligibility
- A registered Yas Tanzania SIM in your own name
- Registration with valid identification in line with the operator's KYC rules
Documents needed
- NIDA ID or number
- Registered Yas SIM
Most widely accepted
M-Pesa Tanzania (Vodacom)
★★★★☆
None advertised for holding the wallet; per-transaction charges apply under the published M-Pesa tariff
Monthly Fee
Electronic money issuer licensed by the Bank of Tanzania under the National Payment Systems Act
Licence
Being paid and paying almost anywhere in Tanzania, including as a remittance receive method
Best For
mno
Type
Pros
- The most widely accepted wallet in the country, so the agent and merchant network is the deepest
- Named as a receive option by several international remittance services, including Remitly and NALA
- Works over USSD and app, so it does not depend on owning a smartphone
Cons
- Wallet balances are not a bank deposit and should not be treated as savings
- Cash-out and send charges are tiered and add up; for larger sums a bank transfer is usually cheaper
- Vodacom's website loads its product detail dynamically, so the current tariff is easiest to confirm in-app or at an agent
Fees, eligibility & documents
Fees
Send, withdraw and pay chargesTiered by amount under M-Pesa's published tariff — check the current tariff in the app or at an agent before a large transfer
Wallet maintenanceNo monthly holding fee advertised
Eligibility
- A registered Vodacom Tanzania SIM in your own name
- Registration with valid identification in line with KYC rules
Documents needed
- NIDA ID or number
- Registered Vodacom SIM
People also compare
Ad